Holiday Time

26 Nov

The holidays are rapidly approaching, my dear readers.  How did it get so late in the year so quickly? How do I still have so much to do in SO LITTLE TIME?  I have my own reasons to be asking myself these questions (think a long lingering cold and 30,000 words to write in 3 months), but I’m sure you all have your own.

The end of this week will begin my mad dash to purchase all of the holiday gifts I could possibly want to send to my friends and family in the USA from stores in Britain to ensure receipt on or before Christmas.

Starting tomorrow I will be comfortably enveloped in my kitchen for 2 days cooking Thanksgiving dinner for twelve! This is the biggest group I’ve ever single-handedly cooked for, so wish me luck!

Finally a rush to finish Christmas shopping and the lovely deep breath that is Christmas morning.  A deep breath inspired by my lack of stressful things to do.

Here are some things that indicate “that time of year” is upon us to me:

Those red cups

I know, I know. I’m playing into corporate America’s takeover of the season, but they’re just so festive I couldn’t help myself.

I can see my breath all the time.

This is a new thing for me.  In California, I would mention that this would happen in the mornings, but in Glasgow it’s an all the time, even from my nose kind of a thing.

Canned, pureed pumpkin en mass.

So much pumpkin-y goodness

That’s right. That is four cans of pumpkin on my kitchen counter. NBD.

Corn Chowder Cravings.

I know this one is just me, but my dad always makes it in the winter time. No matter how old I get, when it’s chilly, this is a food I wish I had.

Twinkly lights are everywhere.

Glasgow Loves Christmas

Glasgow has a whole marketing campaign for its lights and shopping called “Glasgow loves Christmas.” It’s totally true.

My desire for butter and carbohydrates.

mmm... butter

My body really wants to bulk up for the short, cold, dark days that lie ahead.  It’s both wonderful and rude.

This sweater.

Reindeer Jumper!

I’ve been looking for a reindeer sweater for literally two years.  I saw this one and needed it.

What are some of your cues that the holidays are upon us?

4 Responses to “Holiday Time”

  1. Feet from Shore November 26, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    I love the Christmas sweater! I have a similar one in Spain (I’m currently living in LA but all my family is Spanish), I can’t wait to wear it all the time!! 🙂

    • Leigh November 27, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

      Thank you!! It’s really warm, perfect for the cold European winter ahead that you’ve lucked out of in sunny LA!

  2. Mom November 27, 2013 at 3:29 am #

    Your dad’s corn chowder is something that has brought you happiness since you were little. It’s very sweet that it still does.

    • Leigh November 27, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

      It always brings back the warm fuzzies from childhood. I’m going to make some soon! I have a [no longer] secret plan to make some on the day of the first snow!

Leave a Reply

