Living Life Cameraless

31 Jul
Test Kitchen Cookie+Trusty Spreads

Test Kitchen Cookie+Trusty Spreads

Remember that recipe I promised would be up by the end of last week?  Noticed a lack of recipe?  Well, I have come to defend myself for my own inconsistency.  I made the cookies,  I ate the cookies, but the cookies should stay in the “test kitchen” portion of my life.  I took a tried and true cookie recipe, substituted peanut butter for 1/2 the butter and things got sticky.  Literally, the dough was thick and sticky.  Not sticky in a good way though, but in a the-chocolate-chips-won’t-fold-into-the-dough kind of way.  I did, however, put peanut butter and nutella between two this afternoon, and was pretty happy.  Decent cookies, just not cookies I’d encourage others to make.  A shout out to a friend of mine who stayed with me last week though for telling me that I’m a good baker anyway!

I realized today (while spreading my two favorite things on cookie, mind you) that I’ve become a person that doesn’t really document things.  When the flash on my camera broke over a year ago, I never bothered fixing it.  Because I’m terrified of breaking my precious iPhone, I don’t whip it out and take pictures unless I’m nearly guaranteed its safe return to my handbag.  I don’t mind this though.  I know it makes for less entertaining blogging (sorry guys), but I’m happy to say that I’m able to live my life without constantly needing to take 18 pictures of myself eating and walking and baking and doing yoga and studying and writing and reading.  And, though I may have been converted to just about every social media platform, I don’t need to take and share photographic evidence of my life.  Thanks little blog for teaching me that.

I leave you with a John Mayer song that sums up my feelings very neatly.

P.S. check out this wonderful vegetarian fajita recipe my friend Emma sent me- healthy and reducing the impact eating meat has on the planet! (It’s my dinner tonight!) http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/roasted-chickpea-fajitas/

2 Responses to “Living Life Cameraless”

  1. emsarconi August 2, 2013 at 12:56 am #

    We’re having those for dinner later in the week! LOVE THEM

    • Leigh August 2, 2013 at 10:01 am #

      I made the whole recipe for just me and will be eating them again tonight, for the third night in a row. Thank god they’re really good. Also, of course you’re having them this week; I’m not at all surprised.

Leave a Reply

