First Day of Summer

21 Jun

Happy summer boys and girls!  Today is the longest period of daylight I’ve ever experienced, sunrise was at 4:29 am and sunset at 10:05 pm.  Quite the turn around from the oh so dark days of winter.  I’m delighted to be in the warmest season of the year here in Glasgow.  Everything is so green, which is so odd to my SoCal senses. I keep expecting something close by to turn brown and catch on fire.  I love being surrounded (year round, in fact) by luscious greenery.  I don’t think it will ever get old.  The earth here just looks so healthy all the time.  This is not what I’m used to in the summer.

Kelvingrove Flowers

I mean, let’s be honest here.  Once it’s May in Southern California, it looks a lot more like this.

854

Perhaps a picture of the desert is a liiitttttle bit of an exaggeration, but you catch my drift.

One of my intended big undertakings this week was to bake a swiss roll cake, something that looks terrifying, not because of the actual baking, but because of the rolling of cake after the baking.  I’m especially nervous about this due to, well, the lack of grace in my favorite food blogger’s early attempts at this kind of cake.  I’ll go at it best tips in hand, but let me tell you, I’m afraid!  Of course, the reason I’m telling you about my nerves and not sharing this cake in any of its potential formations is because it didn’t  happen this week.  I had a presentation for my thesis, so all baking exploits were put on the back burner.  Soon my 20 followers, soon!

Leave a Reply

