Happy June!

3 Jun

As you may have noted, I have taken a little hiatus from blogging the last few weeks.  I have been so unexpectedly busy!  In addition to a wonderful visit with a very special guest (my mom!), I’ve been running around with Matthew and enjoying the sun while trying to keep up with my thesis.  Basically, I’ve been trying to enjoy the summer for a wee while because I don’t really get to have one this year…

Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle

Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle

While I was away from you, I was running around Scotland. In addition to hanging about a village near Glasgow, my mom and I ended up in the Highlands!  I’ve been up before, but not nearly as far.  Can I just tell you how stunning it is up there in the Spring?  I couldn’t believe it.  All of those things you hear are true.  And get this: the whole time we were there, it was sunny.  Simply amazing. Inverness and Loch Ness, you have not seen the last of this girl.  There was also a trip to St. Andrews where we hung out with this girl.  We also did some touristy things in Glasgow, which I thoroughly enjoyed, including the Glasgow Necropolis (go if you haven’t, it’s literally awesome), the Willow Tea Room (great if you love Mackintosh), the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, and the Hunterian Museum and Art Gallery.

I have eaten more in the last three weeks than I could possibly describe, so I’m not even going to try.  I will say, however, that I’m getting concerned about what might happen with my jeans and that the running needs to commence this week…  I would provide a recipe for you all, but I’ve been sticking to old favorites recently.  I suspect that this week will bring something good though.  I hope you’re enjoying the first week of June!  (How did the first half of the year flash by so quickly!?)

One Response to “Happy June!”

  1. Mom June 4, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    I concur! The traveling that we did was great fun, the weather lovely, the country very beautiful and the people friendly. The food was VERY nice, and if you’ve not eaten haggis yet, you have missed out. It was outstanding. Many thanks to my two wonderful hosts, and their family and friends, who shared their homes and time with me.

Leave a Reply

