Monday, Monday (and Stuffed Mushrooms)

15 Apr

Although this weekend was less than fun (it was cloudy with a few fleeting glimpses of sun and Matthew was studying all weekend), at least it was full of good food and good television programming.  I made stuffed mushrooms Saturday night, a roast chicken last night, and delicious parmesan crusted pesto grilled cheese for lunch both days.  Matthew and I have started watching a show called Firefly, which had a brief run in 2002, and I started the first season of Downton Abby yesterday.  In addition, I managed to get a fair amount of work done.

Today looks to be equally thrilling, registering at a doctor’s office and getting a library card being at the top of my to do list.  Hopefully I’ll also get some writing done today.  I haven’t done any literary or film analysis in months, so I’m a bit nervous that what I do end up with will be lower quality than what I generally produce.  I suppose that’s what drafts are for!

I leave you my mushrooms and a wee warning.  You should definitely check this BBC article out if you’re a wordpress.com user yourself.  Apparently someone/a group of someones is hacking fairly successfully into many people’s accounts.  Make sure your password is strong enough!

Stuffed MushroomsStuffed Mushrooms A La Leigh

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 4 large mushrooms (I used large chestnut, but you could also use portabella)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes (roma sized), chopped
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/3 cup rice (I used basmati, but I really think any kind would be excellent)
  • freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • mozzarella cheese
  • butter or oil
  • salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • dried basil

Preheat the oven to 180°C (or about 350°F).  Cook rice while chopping up vegetables.  Over a medium high heat, heat butter in frying pan and add onion.  After about 2 minutes, add pepper.  Cook until onion is beginning to brown and add tomatoes and spices, to taste.  When rice has finished cooking, add the vegetables to the rice.  Grate in parmesan to taste (about 1/4-1/2 cup).  Place mushrooms on a baking sheet and pour mixture into mushrooms.  Cover the tops with mozzarella cheese. Bake until cheese is melted, about 8 minutes, and serve.

One Response to “Monday, Monday (and Stuffed Mushrooms)”

  1. Mom April 17, 2013 at 3:05 am #

    That looks delightful!

Leave a Reply

