Mundane Mondays

18 Mar

Being a grad student without classes has ruined my typical pattern of life.  Because my boyfriend is also a student, and his term is winding down, I have no sense of the significance of certain days of the week.  Weekends are less exciting and Mondays are less awful.  That being said, Mondays tend to be rather boring.  I crack down to work on Mondays, even though I typically do some research on the weekends, which frequently means not leaving my flat.  Today, for instance, I spent hours analyzing shots in Snow Cake.  It’s a good film, so I can’t complain too much, but because it was such a simple thing the amount of time it took was rather disheartening.  I have so much to write that spending time doing analysis that is equally unfun seems wasteful!

To make the day less drab (it was also raining/sleeting/cloudy all day-gross),  I made what Matthew thinks of as my signature dish- vegetarian stuffed green peppers.  It’s warm and cheesy and always a roaring success.  It also takes me less time every time I cook it, which is wonderful as one of my biggest problems as a chef/baker is that I’m SO slow.  Although tonight’s peppers were a little, well, squat, they brightened my day!  Here’s the recipe (inspired by this one) to make your next boring day a little brighter!

Stuffed Peppers

Stuffed Peppers

Leigh’s Stuffed Green Peppers

(Serves 2)

Ingredients

  • 2 green bell peppers, halved, cored, and seeded
  • 1/2 cup arborio rice
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 or 3 green onions, chopped (spring onions in the UK)
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ground black pepper to taste (I like a fair amount, about three good grinds on my pepper grinder, maybe 1/4 tsp)
  • 1 whole tomato or 4-5 cherry tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 400ºF (200ºC).  Put rice into boiling water and cook for 20 minutes, or until all the water has boiled away and

rice is cooked.  Place bell pepper halves on a baking tray and bake for 15-20 minutes. Chop up the green onions and tomato(es).   Put the onion in the hot oil with the basil, salt, and pepper for about 3 minutes.  Add in tomato and cook, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat.  Stir the cooked rice and cheese in with the onions and tomatoes.  Fill the pepper halves with the mixture. Pop back in the oven for 5 minutes.  Serve immediately.

One Response to “Mundane Mondays”

  1. Leigh May 6, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    Apparently this has become a trend, as I find myself making these on this bleak, unexciting Monday! On the bright side, y’all can see pictures of the actual dish instead of just green peppers!

Leave a Reply

