The Way Mom Makes It

10 Feb

As a child, I was an extremely picky eater.  Fortunately for me and everyone around me, I had a list longer than 10 foods,

but I was difficult to please.  Going to restaurants was always interesting if they didn’t have something pretty basic, chicken strips for example, because burgers and grilled cheese were out of the question.  I always wanted things to be the way my mom made them.  For most things, I’ve grown out of this.  I can handle a ham that someone other than my mother has prepared or a cake that someone else baked with love.  Like many adults though, some things just aren’t right unless it has Mom’s recipe attached to it.

As I mentioned in my last post, I found a good recipe for banana bread on (shock) smitten kitchen- you can check it out here. It was good, very good even.  The texture was perfect and it was a lovely compliment to my morning coffee.  But it wasn’t my mom’s.  It didn’t hold the just banana flavor that I was looking for, the wonderful simplicity of childhood.

Friday I decided that I couldn’t deny the urge any longer.  I made myself a most unnecessary, but long held out for, loaf.

Mom's Banana Bread

Mom’s Banana Bread

And boy is it good.  I did make a few tweaks (sorry Mom) based on my own preference or instinct.  I substituted butter for shortening, because I am a butter devotee, and I added extra mashed banana and a pinch of nutmeg, to add a little extra flavor.  Because I ran out of granulated sugar, the last little bit I filled in with brown, which turned out swimmingly.  Enjoy the adapted version of my mom’s recipe!

Mom’s Banana Bread

  • 1/2 cup butter (shortening if you prefer)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar (I did just under a cup and added 2 tbsp brown)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup mashed banana
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1 1/4 cup sifted flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350° F, 175° C.  In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar.  Add the two eggs and beat until combined.  Add the mashed banana and nutmeg to the mixture.  Sift in flour, baking soda, and salt.  Pour into buttered loaf tin and bake for 40-50 minutes or until tester comes out clean. Cool on wire racks and serve!

3 Responses to “The Way Mom Makes It”

  1. Mom February 11, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    I am so flattered! This sounds really good. I like the addition of a pinch of nutmeg. (And, I usually use a little more banana, too, although I didn’t think of it when I sent the recipe.) I approve of your “tweaks” and will make it your way next time I bake banana bread….which I wish I could today.

    • Leigh February 12, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

      Definitely bake it longer with the butter though. It takes a bit to get it to turn from dough to bread… Matthew and I both absolutely prefer your version to any others.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dithering and Delays | An Education in Scotland - March 11, 2014

    […] baking happened. (Mostly this and this and some largely mediocre Mary Berry […]

Leave a Reply

